young love and chicken pox

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Cause, Meet Effect.”

You can singlehandedly create a causal relation between two things that are currently unconnected — a word and an emotion, a song and an extreme weather event, wearing a certain color and winning the lottery. What cause would you link to what effect, and why?

He decided to sit beside her that day. The girl who usually sits beside her was absent for some reason. Never did he once talk to her all these years, but for some reason that day, she became a curiosity he wanted to know.

The empty space beside her looked so inviting, so warm.

She didn’t notice at first–she was so wrapped up solving some math problems. I leaned in, somewhat half an inch wanting to see how far along she was in our homework, when I caught a whiff of her baby cologne and shampoo. The scent, only available in this immediate space around her. All of a sudden, images of waking up next to her every morning, to her scent, to her warmth filled my visions of my future. I wanted her in all my tomorrows.

“Excuse me, can I help you?”

I heard her talk before, in speech contests, during class presentations, in the cafe ordering her lunch.

In her space, I wanted her to keep talking. Keep asking questions. Answer some. Leave most. Ask more. Let’s have more conversations.

“Nothing. I was wondering.”

“About what?” She closed her graphic notebook. The numbers suddenly squished, left alone to solve their own problems.

“Wondering. Just wondering.”

She was confused, left me be, and went back to her numbers. I leaned back in her friend’s usual chair.

The next day, I found out that her friend had the chicken pox. She’d be away from school for a week or so.

I stood up and grabbed my backpack from my usual chair, then went back to settle and make a home around her, at least for the next week or so.

And hopefully, for the rest of our lives.

Leave a Reply

