no, i won’t dare open it.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mystery Box.”

You wake up one morning to find a beautifully wrapped package next to your bed. Attached to it is a note: “Open me, if you dare.” What’s inside the mystery box? Do you open it?

I don’t open it. No.

I never dare. I always fear the Unknown. 

I see “Do Not Disturb” signs everywhere,

on everyone’s faces. And hearts, too.

So, the answer is no. I won’t dare open it. Not ever.

I won’t even come close.

Even if it’s beautifully wrapped, no.

No more would I be seduced 

to come close anything mysterious anymore.

Once, I came close to a pair of mysterious eyes

that came with a mysterious heart.

I fell. And hard, too.

Still, I’m trying to run away.

But his heart is like a shadow in the sun,

and his eyes like the tick-tock of my clock at night.

Leave a Reply

