limang tao (five people)

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Circle of Five.”

A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?

1. RP

He is my partner-in-crime. The one who gets the first wave of every significant experience that moves me. He makes me laugh all kinds of laugh: small and short, boisterous, and the internal kind. The one who I think of every time I come across something funny, strange, or both in the Internet–and consequently the one whose email address I automatically type when forwarding such funny and strange things. He catches my tears and buries them deep into the earth. He is the one who thinks I’m beautiful and who believes I can reach my dreams and beyond. My soulmate: the one, the love, I never saw coming.

2. EM

He is my rock, the rock of our family. The one who is the best example of love and generosity and faith. His strength is unbelievable. The one who makes me worry every time I find myself driving, and he’s in the passenger seat looking for his health card. The one who moves my prayers into tears. The one whose advice I always seek. He always spoils movie and TV endings in an adorable and forgivable way. He is a quiet man, but his heart speaks volumes. The most patient and kind. The courage I hope to always have.

3. AM

She is my other rock. The one who taught me how to read, how to write, and how to love. I owe her my life. She is the most beautiful woman in the world and the best storyteller. The one with the fiercest love. Her generosity goes beyond the material things. The most hard working. The best person to have coffee with in the morning. She loves the littlest things. The one with the toughest exterior but the softest heart. The woman I hope to become.

4. JM

He knows everything about me, and he will always stand up for me no matter what. He is my most favourite artist. His silence is comfortable. The one who has seen me at my worst, and never once did he count or use it against me. My other best friend. The one I would die and kill for. He is the one I forgive and forgives me automatically. The one who cooks and is willing to actually cook. The one whose dreams are silent but big. His passion seeps out of his room during the quietest times of the day.

5. KT

KT is an amalgamation of people, a specific group of people I see almost everyday of the week. We are quite a bunch of oddities, but we all have that one goal and that makes us a solid team. They are my friends and more: they are my brothers and sisters, not by blood but by faith. They keep me grounded and motivated. Each of them, a blessing. The ones who, when together, create and pass on a wave of faith and inspiration.

***

All five of them keep me fighting and living on every day.

I am honoured to be a part of your lives.

Salamat.

2 thoughts on “limang tao (five people)

    1. Thank you! But I’m giving the props to these wonderful people for being… wonderful… words aren’t enough to capture their essence in my life. 🙂

      I hope everything is going well with you. All the best with softball. xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

